Tweak3D.Net
Save?
Not Registered Yet? Go here.
Xoxide Computer Mods Contact the webmaster to purchase this spot on the web site
Join The Cult Tweakers Image Gallery Donate Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Welcome to Tweak3D

This is an open forum about tech stuff, games, and cars. Register to access all forums, and to hide this ad and others.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2006, 02:56 AM   permanent link to #1
 
tweakmonkey's Avatar
tweakmonkey
Chief Webologist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 4,682 (#11 )
Thanked 30x in 17 posts
Send a message via ICQ to tweakmonkey Send a message via AIM to tweakmonkey Send a message via Skype™ to tweakmonkey

Go to Myspace, click a profile, download Myspace IM, and you're infected.

I was viewing a friend's profile earlier and noticed I had four new friend requests on Myspace. Since I don't check it often, I figured it was some half naked chick telling me to buy her pictures and I was half right. But when I clicked the profile I was amazed at what happened...

Through a simple profile hack, the profiles forward to a page that closely resembles the Myspace Instant Messenger download page. So close in fact, most users may not be able to tell the difference. The result? A tricky .exe file that's being downloaded instead of the genuine Myspace IM client.

I don't have Windows installed so I can't test this file out, but it surely cannot be good.

Here's the genuine Myspace page:
http://collect.myspace.com/index.cfm...on=im.download

Quote:
EDIT - this page is now disabled but originally resembled a perfect clone of the Myspace IM page.
Here's the page that the profiles will forward you to:
http://www.newvidscodec.net/
(notice the Download MySpaceIM Link links to "http://www.newvidscodec.net/myspaceIM.exe")

DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE SOFTWARE.


Here are some example profiles (while they exist):
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endID=96416098
http://profile.myspace.com/index.cfm...endID=96426349

I had four people add me in a 15 minute period. I bet this thing's spreading like wildfire, whatever it is...

I'm Tweak3D's self-appointed mayor.
tweakmonkey is online now Ignore this User   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2006, 11:18 AM   permanent link to #2
c6comp
the game belongs to me
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Houston,Texas
Posts: 158 (#157 )
Thanked 0x in 0 posts
Send a message via MSN to c6comp

it says:
this acount has been suspended when i click ont the link. i guess thats a good thing
c6comp is offline Ignore this User   Reply With Quote
Reply

Login to reply. Sign-up here.

Be notified of new replies to this thread



1 people are viewing this thread! (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
See Who's Reading Your Myspace tweakmonkey Status and Feedback 5 06-15-2006 09:42 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0
©Tweak3D.Net 1998-2008Ad Management by RedTyger